Celebrate a Census Day of Action with the Community Action network!

America was built on the promise that every family should have opportunity for success. Yet, today’s unequal economy keeps a good quality of life out of reach for too many Americans.  Approximately 1 in 5 children in America live below the poverty line and more than 40% of families live with incomes at or below double the poverty line. Those are stark numbers, but you can help change them!

The National Community Action Partnership (NCAP) is America’s Anti-Poverty network; a national hub that links the nation’s 1,000+ Community Action Agencies to each other and to leaders looking for solutions that connect Americans to greater opportunity. Community Action Agencies embody our nation’s spirit of hope, change people’s lives, and improve communities. By working for a complete count on the 2020 Census, we can ensure proper federal funding for the very programs we use to make America a better place to live for everyone.

The Partnership has joined the Count All Kids coalition since we share the mission of counting all children living in America to help ensure fair funding and political representation for the millions of people living in poverty. Our agencies provide life-changing services to both parents and children, from early childhood education and child care subsidies to parenting skills and food assistance. We know that with adequate funding, our agencies can help set up the next generation of children for success through this work. In order to receive that funding, we have to make sure all of our customers, from the youngest to the oldest, are counted in this year’s Census.

May is Community Action Awareness month, when our entire network highlights the work we do to help struggling families. As part of the month-long celebration, we have designated May 13th as  Census Day of Action, and  we want everyone to:

  1. Complete their Census form (if they haven’t already) by visiting my2020Census.gov or calling 844-330-2020.
  2. Join us for a Facebook live event at 3 pm ET/2 pm CT/ 1 pm MT/ 12pm PT to ask questions about how to fill out their form.
  3. Post a selfie on social media with posters that declare #ICountToo to spread the word!

We know the Census isn’t on the top of everyone’s mind these days, but it’s still crucial to the future of our nation. By bringing our network together, we hope to raise the profile of the Census and encourage participation for everyone, big and small.

 

 

Leave a reply